The GetDPI Photography Forums  
   
 

Go Back   The GetDPI Photography Forums > Digital Camera Forum > Fuji


Site Sponsors

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15th May 2011   #1
Super Duper
Senior Member
 
jonoslack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: East Anglia & Cornwall (UK)
Posts: 10,905
Images: 1
X100 - shooting RAW and using Aperture (not for grandmothers)

HI there
I don't want to be teaching my grandmother to suck eggs, so, for whom this is really obvious - apologies! I just thought that it might be helpful to someone!

Having re-evaluated the situation too many times, I do know that Aperture is the photographic program for me, there's no question about it.

However, as usual, Aperture have been slow to provide support for the X100, and I thought it might just be worth sharing the way I deal with this issue.

I'm always a little worried about using proprietary RAW formats anyway, so I don't have a problem about converting to DNG - fortunately the Adobe DNG converter is free, and you can get it from here:

Adobe DNG converter 6.4 for mac

Okay - this is what I do
First of all - I shoot RAW - then I insert the SD card into the computer and load DNG converter:

You can see that having set it up once, it defaults to using the folder in the SD card with the images:
/Volumes/Untitled/DCIM/100_FUJI/

The target location I've set up is a transit folder called

/Volumes/....../fujidng/

Again - having set this up once it will default to this folder each time you load DNG converter

Here's how it looks:


Having clicked the Convert button and put the kettle on, I remove the SD card, load Aperture and click on Import - I'll then choose the local drive and go to the

/Volumes/....../fujidng/ folder, which will then have all the DNG files ready to import.

I set Aperture to MOVE the files to the correct end location (I have a default project for each month, with a matching folder).

Like this:



After doing the import, the temporary fujidng folder is empty (the files having been moved), So there is no duplication of files and everything is neat and tidy.

. . . . . . . of course, I also have a backup routine which runs each night to backup the new files.

I hope this is helpful to someone!

all the best
__________________

Just this guy you know
jonoslack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2011   #2
emr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: EU
Posts: 315
Re: X100 - shooting RAW and using Aperture (not for grandmothers)

An interesting kludge, always happy to see good workarounds like that. But are all DNGs created equal? I mean that even if a PP software is capable of opening the files produced like this, are the results optimal? When Aperture or some other PP program bríngs the support for a certain camera, does importing such raw files then also provide specific corrections of different kinds of distortions and aberrations? Like how the in-camera corrections for JPGs work?

Just wondering.

EDIT: Don't know if the X100 has such corrections like for example Pentax K-5 does
emr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2011   #3
Senior Member
 
barjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 892
Images: 169
Re: X100 - shooting RAW and using Aperture (not for grandmothers)

Aperture native support is now available!
__________________
V/r John
barjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2011   #4
Super Duper
Senior Member
 
jonoslack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: East Anglia & Cornwall (UK)
Posts: 10,905
Images: 1
Re: X100 - shooting RAW and using Aperture (not for grandmothers)

Quote:
Originally Posted by barjohn View Post
Aperture native support is now available!
That's grand news John - doesn't make any difference to me, but it's good to know that Apple aren't that far behind Adobe.
__________________

Just this guy you know
jonoslack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2011   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 46
Re: X100 - shooting RAW and using Aperture (not for grandmothers)

I just got Camera Raw update for X100.

no more Adobe DNG.

yes!
pellicule is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © 2014, GetDPI.comAd Management plugin by RedTyger