The GetDPI Photography Forums  
   
 

Go Back   The GetDPI Photography Forums > Digital Camera Forum > Fuji


Site Sponsors

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28th June 2011   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 683
Focus recompose and metering.

Pressing the shutter release locks both focus and metering, which means if I focus and recompose sometimes the shots are overexposed, eg if I have focused on an area with less sky then recomposed.

Is it possible to *only* lock focus when pressing the shutter release?

My current workaround is to use MF mode, and lock focus with the AEL/AFL button.

Lee
Sapphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2011   #2
Super Duper
Senior Member
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near San Jose, California
Posts: 5,877
Re: Focus recompose and metering.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sapphie View Post
Pressing the shutter release locks both focus and metering, which means if I focus and recompose sometimes the shots are overexposed, eg if I have focused on an area with less sky then recomposed.

Is it possible to *only* lock focus when pressing the shutter release?

My current workaround is to use MF mode, and lock focus with the AEL/AFL button.
Most of the more sophisticated cameras allow you to customize the operation of the shutter release half-press and AEL/AFL button. What camera are you using? I know this is the Fuji forum, but there are several different Fuji models ...
__________________
Godfrey - godfreydigiorgi.wordpress.com
Godfrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2011   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 918
Images: 16
Re: Focus recompose and metering.

Lee -

I lock exposure only with the AFL/AEL button (assigned in the custom menu) and hold it in while I recompose and focus using the shutter button.

You can assign the AFL/AEL to toggle on/off and not have to hold it in while focusing, but I find I forget and my next shot is screwed up because I don't toggle it off.

R
Rich M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2011   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 683
Re: Focus recompose and metering.

Rich

Just lost some shots this way (using the toggle mode for locking focus) myself today! I almost find it easier to go into manual mode and use the same button there for focusing. That way I forget (less often) as it is easier for this to become an ingrained habit.

I might give your method a go as well, though.

Lee
Sapphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2011   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: netherlands
Posts: 166
Re: Focus recompose and metering.

you can program the ael/afl button to lock focus only.
it will only lock focus after focus has been initiated by half pressing the shutter button, but will hold that focus if you use the toggle or switch mode.
archiM44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2014, GetDPI.comAd Management plugin by RedTyger