The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Hasselblad system - need your advice

Valentin

Hi,

While I've been lurking for a while, this is my first post. I'm an event photographer (mainly weddings) and for the past 7yrs I've been shooting 35mm digitally. I don't plan on changing that :), but I would like to do something different.

My plan is to start shooting MF again, specifically I like the square format. When I shot MF, I was using the Bronica system. I would like to get either a Hassy or a Mamiya. Also, I would like something that I could potentially use it with a digital back as well at some point down the road. From the website, it seems that the 503CW fits the bill.

I found this for sale and I would like your opinion - $1900:

Hasselblad 503CW Chrome Medium Format
50mm lens
150 mm lens
5 backs
Hasselblad flash
Compete Outfit EXCELLENT++

I will also try to attach an image.

Here are the questions:

1. Price: is it good deal, fair price or overpriced?
2. Lenses: what kind of lenses are these (chrome)?
3. What should I look for? (aside from the obvious external condition)
4. Does it work with digital backs, untethered?
5. Can you get a prism that has a build in meter (I don't want to carry a light meter with me)?

Any other advice?

Your help is much appreciated.

Valentin

Valentin

So, 60 people later and nobody has any advice? :)

I know there are some very knowledgeable people in here and I would appreciate your input (or point me in the right direction).

Thanks,
Valentin

docmoore

Subscriber and Workshop Member