The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

FS: (like NEW) Mamiya 80 1.9 [Shallow DOF]

Anders_HK

This is a very rare Mamiya 80mm 1.9 in like NEW condition

I am an advanced amateur and care well of my gear. This is the last of my Mamiya lenses that I now put up for sale because I changed system to Hy6. It is last for good reason: This is a VERY SPECIAL lens --- SHALLOW DOF (or 1.0 type DOF on 35mm terms). And, SMALL SIZE L 59mm W 75mm, filter 67mm and LOW weight, only 420g!!!!! :thumbs: Thus easy and light to carry, handhold at low light, and with minimum focus distance of 70cm. Actually I even considered adapting it for my Hy6 for close focus portraits for shallow DOF but am content with my Schneider Xenotar 80 2.8 AFD PQ on extension tubes, this 80 1.9 is really this good! :thumbs:

Mamiya made the 80 1.9 for the Pro TL and discontinued it some 8-10 years ago. There is no lens to replace it. This is the Noctilux for Mamiya system and in medium format the perhaps only equals are Rollei 80 2.0 and the longer Hassy 110 2.0, both larger and heavier and more expensive. The Hassy works on Mamiya through adapter, but since heavier more difficult to hand hold in low light (had the 110/2, sold it many months ago). The 80 1.9 is thus a very respectful achievement of Mamiya. I was lucky to find and purchase it NEW in 2007 and have used it careful and limited. Thus this is a rare item open for sale to someone who value finding one in this NEW condition.