The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

An ideal fast normal lens, my Schneider Xenon 25mm/1.5

Another find in my old lens collection, I found an old Schneider-Kreuznach 25mm/1.5 I had never used. It is in Arri Standard mount, ugly to look at, needs a custom adapter but delivers an image quality I would have never dreamt of , I would love to keep it as my standard lens. Covers the whole G1 sensor and only in rare cases is there a trace of vignetting.. It comes with an Arri Standard adapter, but it will not focus to infinity The problem is I am not good at mechanical jobs, nor do I have anybody at hand who could give the lens a good CLA and modify the adapter for it to reach infinity., so there is some work to be done.

I would welcome your opinions on the quality of the results, whether you would think it is worth investing in it. Anybody you know of in Switzerland or Europe that could make the necessary work without my spending more than the lenses commercial value.

Here some examples. All pictures made at ISO=100 and full aperture (1.5) unless indicated, Raw developed and resized in Raw Therapee:

View attachment 12630

View attachment 12631

Here, some vignetting can be seen

View attachment 12632

Orchid, f/=1.5

View attachment 12633

f/=2.8

View attachment 12634

f/=5.6

Thank you in advance for your tips and advice.
Peter

TRSmith

Subscriber Member
Very sweet rendition of the soft colors. I like what looks to be fairly flat contrast. On the first two shots there seems to be a fair amount of noise. Are those at ISO 100 too?

It's pretty cool to be able to mount such an assortment of lenses!