The GetDPI Photography Forums      

Go Back   The GetDPI Photography Forums > Digital Camera Forum > Fuji


Site Sponsors

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23rd June 2011   #1
Super Duper
Senior Member
 
Terry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 6,888
Images: 1147
X100 new firmware is live

DPReview
http://www.dpreview.com/news/1106/11...mpaign=generic

Fuji website
http://www.fujifilm.com/support/digi...x100/fupd.html
__________________
terry
www.terrybanet.com
Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2011   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 533
Re: X100 new firmware is live

Grr.

Getting an "input / output error" message, when I try to copy
__________________
My Flickr
OlliL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2011   #3
Super Moderator
 
Cindy Flood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 3,167
Images: 118
Re: X100 new firmware is live

Quote:
Originally Posted by OlliL View Post
Grr.

Getting an "input / output error" message, when I try to copy
Olli, Make sure that you have turned the camera to on.
Cindy Flood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2011   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 533
Re: X100 new firmware is live

Thanks Cindy, I did that

Didn't work on two computers, so I just put it directly on my SD-card and it worked flawless.

Now testing the new features.
__________________
My Flickr
OlliL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2011   #5
Super Moderator
 
Cindy Flood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 3,167
Images: 118
Re: X100 new firmware is live

Quote:
Originally Posted by OlliL View Post
Thanks Cindy, I did that

Didn't work on two computers, so I just put it directly on my SD-card and it worked flawless.

Now testing the new features.
It seems that they made the instructions overly complicated. I don't know why they just didn't have us copy straight to the SD card in the first place.
Cindy Flood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2011   #6
Subscriber Member
 
Streetshooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,429
Images: 17
Re: X100 new firmware is live

Remember these are the engineers that made mistakes in the camera. Of course they would do the same for the update....

There's a great improvement in the camera.

1. The following functions can be locked during shooting by holding down [MENU / OK] button over 3 sec.
DRIVE / Flash / White balance / Macro (set on the Command Dial - 4 direction key)
2. "CORRECTED AF FRAME" menu is added in "SET-UP" menu (the last line on menu page 6) to display additional AF frame (corrected AF frame for reducing parallax) which can be effectively used for macro shots. (Factory default value is set to "OFF")
3. Adjustment in1/3 step increment for shutter speed or aperture setting is enabled in Shutter-Priority AE and Aperture-Priority AE mode, on top of those in Manual Exposure mode.
Shutter-Priority AE : Adjustment is controlled by rotating the command dial
Aperture-Priority AE : Adjustment is controlled by moving left / right on the command control lever
4. In the post-view mode (display after shooting), focused area is magnified in the LCD (EVF) display when the command control lever is pressed.
Cf. "IMAGE DISP." Setting must be set to "CONTINUOUS",
5. Setting of the role for "Fn" button is enabled by holding down "Fn" button over 3 sec.
6. Actual ISO sensitivity for shooting is displayed just after pressing shutter button halfway, when "ISO AUTO CONTROLL" is set to ON.
7. When "eye sensor" is activated by pressing "VIEW MODE" button, "EYE SENSOR" is displayed on EVF / OVF or LCD just a while to notice the status.
8. Macro mode ISO sensitivity, Drive mode, Dynamic range, Self-timer mode, flash mode is maintained even if shutter speed setting or aperture setting is changed. Also, even after changing viewing mode into shooting mode or turning of the camera, these values are maintained.
9. The size of focus frame set through viewing EVF / LCD is maintained even after changing display mode between OVF and EVF (LCD).
10. When "SHUTTER SOUND" is chosen, each shutter sound is performed in each menu setting.
11. In viewing mode, the last viewed shot is maintained as even after changing into shooting mode.
Cf. After another image is shot after viewing former image, memory of viewing the image is cancelled and the last shot is displayed as the latest image.
12. When the aspect ration of the image size is set to 16:9, the line of bright frame line on OVF is displayed with aspect ratio 16:9.
13. Viewing mode with Photo Information on EVF / LCD is maintained even if another image is shot. On top of this issue, deleting picture directly is enabled even in viewing with Photo information by pressing the command dial up, or MENU operation is also enabled.
14. Occasionally, preview image on EVF / LCD after pressing the shutter halfway might be darker than live view, according to aperture setting or brightness of shooting target. This phenomenon is improved.
15. When "DISP. CUSTOM SETTING" is set to OVF or EVF / LCD, the setting value is maintained even after customizing the menu.
16. Even for only RAW data recording mode, "RED EYE REMOVAL" setting is selectable among ON or OFF.
17. In MF (manual focus) setting with OVF mode, OVF viewing is activated after pressing shutter half way, even if "FOCUS CHECK" (magnifying center of the image) is displayed in EVF by pressing the center of the command control lever.
18. Displaying period after pressing each command dial (Macro / Flash) is prolonged from 1.5 sec into 2.0 sec for confirming correctly.
20. For resuming from AUTO POWER OFF setting, the shutter release button was required to hold down halfway for a few second. For quicker operation, resuming is activated by just pressing the button.
21. Image quality captured by Velvia / ASTIA mode is improved on mainly shadow tone (dark area), when dynamic range is set to 200% or 400%.
22. When "OVF POWER SAVE MODE" is set to ON and "Fn" button is set to "MOVIE RECORDING", the camera may be unstable occasionally. This phenomenon is improved.
23. Histogram display on OVF during exposure compensation is improved.
The firmware up date ver.1.01 incorporates the improvement against inadequate operation shown in the following.
1. If the images are shot with ISO Bracketing mode when "QUICK START MODE"(*1) is set to "ON" and turn off the camera,the camera cannot be turned on again even with ordinary operation.
*1 Menu of "QUICK START MODE" is set to "OFF" as factory-default value.
__________________
Cheers, Don
http://streetshooter.net
Flickr
Streetshooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2011   #7
Super Moderator
 
Cindy Flood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 3,167
Images: 118
Re: X100 new firmware is live

Quote:
Originally Posted by Streetshooter View Post
Remember these are the engineers that made mistakes in the camera. Of course they would do the same for the update....
...snip...
After I read all of the instructions, I thought why not just copy straight to the card, but it would not let me. I'm glad Ollie was able to get it done.
I jumped through all of the hoops and got it done that way, too.
Cindy Flood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2011   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 533
Re: X100 new firmware is live

Cindy, it doesn't work, when the card is in the camera.
I think that Windows has certain protection for Cameras, that are not shown as a Mass Storage device.
Had to use the card reader.

Maybe helpful for others, too
__________________
My Flickr
OlliL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2011   #9
Super Moderator
 
Cindy Flood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 3,167
Images: 118
Re: X100 new firmware is live

I was on a Mac. I could not copy directly to my card (which was in the SD slot of my MacBookPro). I ended up following their instructions for using the USB cable and it worked perfectly... just seemed kind of silly to me to have to use the USB cable instead of copying the file right onto my card and inserting it into my camera. YMMV

Quote:
Originally Posted by OlliL View Post
Cindy, it doesn't work, when the card is in the camera.
I think that Windows has certain protection for Cameras, that are not shown as a Mass Storage device.
Had to use the card reader.

Maybe helpful for others, too
Cindy Flood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2011   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,356
Re: X100 new firmware is live

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cindy Flood View Post
I was on a Mac. I could not copy directly to my card (which was in the SD slot of my MacBookPro). I ended up following their instructions for using the USB cable and it worked perfectly... just seemed kind of silly to me to have to use the USB cable instead of copying the file right onto my card and inserting it into my camera. YMMV
Hi Cindy,

I just dragged the firmware file to my SD card with no problems, using a desktop Mac mini with USB card reader. Updated just by holding down the back button on the X100 while turning on the camera.
__________________
Carl
Gallery
scho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2011   #11
Super Moderator
 
Cindy Flood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 3,167
Images: 118
Re: X100 new firmware is live

I tried to drag it and then I copied it and tried to paste it...no cigar. Once I got it on the card (per their lengthy route), then it updated by holding down the back button as you describe.
Doesn't really matter except to let others know that they might try just dragging it to a card first.

Quote:
Originally Posted by scho View Post
Hi Cindy,

I just dragged the firmware file to my SD card with no problems, using a desktop Mac mini with USB card reader. Updated just by holding down the back button on the X100 while turning on the camera.
Cindy Flood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2011   #12
Senior Member
 
fordfanjpn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 538
Re: X100 new firmware is live

I just dragged it on to an SD card using a card reader (on a Mac). No problems at all. But I haven't had time to play with the camera since I did the update. Hopefully today before it starts raining again.

Bill
fordfanjpn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2011   #13
Senior Member
 
dhsimmonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 772
Images: 18
Re: X100 new firmware is live

I just dragged it on to the empty SD card using Mac's Finder. It then loaded into the camera, no problem! It is better not to read the instructions and just follow normal computer practice and then the straightforward messages on the X100's LCD screen!
__________________
Cheers, Dave
www.simmondsphotography.com
dhsimmonds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2011   #14
Member
 
jpmac55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Averill Park, NY
Posts: 57
Re: X100 new firmware is live

The process worked for me on the first X100 release and several Leica updates as well. This latest X100 firmware has been problematic, even with several different cards. I ended up contacting the Fuji service center in New Jersey. After a few questions and answers, they suggested trying it with another computer. It worked but not sure we solved the riddle.
__________________
John
jpmac55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2011   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 533
Re: X100 new firmware is live

There's a new FW available, which supposedly improves close focus AF.
Haven't downloaded myself though.
__________________
My Flickr
OlliL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2011   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 195
Re: X100 new firmware is live

Quote:
Originally Posted by OlliL View Post
There's a new FW available, which supposedly improves close focus AF.
Haven't downloaded myself though.
downloaded and installed! all good, happy close focus
We need to re-enter all time setting again though, possible losing all custom settings.
Sonny
just4fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2011   #17
Workshop Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 2,034
Images: 1
Re: X100 new firmware is live

Just a note for all.

If you want to use the "Auto" flash mode you must be in the program mode. It doesn't show as an option when in Manual, A priority or S priority.

I checked with Fuji in New Jersey and they said that is the way it works. It is not problematic but the logic behind configuring it this way escapes me.

Woody
woodyspedden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2011   #18
Member
 
jpmac55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Averill Park, NY
Posts: 57
Re: X100 new firmware is live

Thanks, Woody. Another intuitive user interface.
__________________
John
jpmac55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 14:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2014, GetDPI.comAd Management plugin by RedTyger